Love Through the Chakras – Acceptance

The first day of class is always so exciting.  On Monday, October 29 all the names, voices and email addresses gathered together via Skype. Most of us have never met face to face.  Our paths crossed via FaceBook, You Tube and Twitter.  We converged in cyberspace – Toronto, Halifax, Edmonton, Costa Rica and Washington DC to name a few – all online at the same time in pursuit of the same thing – purpose and meaning.  It was electric and electronic.

Through the next eight weeks, we will explore Love Through the Chakras.  Chakras, Sanskrit for wheels, direct and move energy through the body.   There are eight Chakras in the Kundalini Yoga tradition and each one offers an opportunity for exploring love in a particular way.

I created this series because being aware and connected to this energy system is an opportunity to know ourselves more deeply and completely, to live life and love in a conscious and consistent way.  During the coming weeks I will share what happens in each class; explain the positive elements and opportunities for love for each Chakra.  Work with us, get to know your Chakras and be a part of this online experience.

The Root Chakra

Sitting in an easy crossed legged position, bring your awareness to the base of your spine and the part of you that is sitting closest to the ground.  The Root Chakra governs the organs of elimination, the element is earth and the colour is red.  It is our shared connection to the planet, our groundedness and rootedness to reality.  The Root Chakra is the container for our habits and instinctual behavior.

Love from the Root Chakra takes the form of acceptance. In a state of acceptance we take responsibility for our lives and flow with these circumstances.  The shadow emotion involves resentment and rigidity.  This holding on can manifest as constipation, a controlling nature or blaming others.

Mantra for Acceptance

“As you go throughout your day, become conscious of your breath. Let your exhale be a physical letting go and as you become aware of the letting go, silently chant on every exhalation, “let go, let god”.  god is the Generating Organizing and Delivering mechanism in the Universe.  You don’t need to analyze the process – just trust.  Accept your parents, your siblings, your partner, your friends, your co workers, your bosses, teachers, and yourself.  Understand and accept yourself – for everything, including not being to accept some people just yet.  When you are ready to you will, and when you do, you will receive a feeling of lightness of being that you never dreamed possible. You will be in a state of grace.” Adapted from The Eight Human Talents, by Gurmukh.

What do you need to accept in order to move forward?  Your sexuality? Your freedom from cultural norms? That a certain relationship is over?

This is how you use the breath to control your mind.

The Kriya (series of exercises) I chose for this class worked on the digestive system.  Having a strong digestive system is the key to good health and stimulates the Root Chakra.

Yoga for the Root Chakra

Acceptance requires Trust.

It’s perfect timing for you to join the class.  Next Monday we will be exploring the second chakra – Love through sexuality, creativity and abundance.  Oh My.  Please drop me a line to register for this Free online experience.

With love,


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *